Skip to content

Serving Municipalities in Kane, Kendall and DeKalb Counties

About Us

Metro West Council of Government is a council of municipalities serving a population of more than 750,000 in Kane, DeKalb and Kendall Counties of Illinois. The non-profit organization was founded in November 2004 and is supported by member dues. It serves its members and the region by:

  • Promoting excellence in local government.
  • Evaluating the impact of pending state and federal legislation on municipalities.
  • Articulating municipal concerns and advocating municipal positions on local, regional, state and national issues.
  • Fostering intergovernmental communication and cooperation.
  • Providing research, technical assistance, training and leadership development opportunities to members.
  • Addressing growth, transportation and water conservation issues affecting the region.
  • Serving as a strong advocate for municipalities.


Metro West members meet monthly, usually on the fourth Thursday evening. In addition to networking, the dinner meetings often feature speakers on topics of interest to member municipalities.

Special Programs & Events

Special programs and events include the Legislative Breakfast, the Springfield Drive Down, the Legislative BBQ and Session Review, the Annual Golf Outing and the Annual Business Partner Recognition Dinner.

Board of Directors

The mayor/president and manager/administrator from each municipality are voting members of the Council’s Board of Directors, which is led by an Executive Committee consisting of a President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and Past-Presidents. The executive committee also includes a municipal representative from each of the three counties.

  • President: Stephan Pickett, President, Village of Sleepy Hollow
  • Vice President: Michael Tyrrell, President, Village of Campton Hills
  • Secretary: Steve Bosco, Administrator, Village of North Aurora
  • Treasurer: Dan DiSanto, Administrator, Village of Oswego
  • DeKalb County Municipal Representative: open
  • Kane County Municipal Representative: Mark Gaffino, President, Village of North Aurora
  • Kendall County Municipal Representative: Dan Duffy, Administrator, Village of Minooka
  • Immediate Past President: Troy Parlier, President, Village of Oswego


  • Executive Director: Lesli Melendy |
  • Executive Assistant Susan Russell|

Metro West Board Liaisons To Partner Organizations

  • CMAP Board Member & Liaison: Matt Brolley, President, Village of Montgomery / Jeff Schielke, Mayor, City of Batavia
  • CMAP Regional Water Supply Planning Group Representatives: Peter Wallers, President, Engineering Enterprises, Inc.
  • IML-Illinois Municipal League: Richard Irvin, Mayor, City of Aurora
  • Metropolitan Mayors Caucus Representatives: Jeff Schielke, Mayor, City of Batavia

Partner Organizations

Metro West Council works collaboratively with a number of governmental entities and regional public and private agencies, boards and committees to facilitate intergovernmental cooperation and to provide the municipal perspective on relevant issues. The Council works to ensure that municipal viewpoints are represented at the earliest possible stages of decision making.


  • Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
  • Illinois Municipal League
  • Kane/Kendall Council of Mayors
  • Metropolitan Mayors Caucus
  • Metropolitan Planning Council
  • RTA-Regional Transit Authority

County Governments

  • DeKalb County
  • Kane County
  • Kendall County

Council of Governments

  • DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference
  • Lake County Municipal League
  • McHenry County Council of Governments
  • Northwest Municipal Conference
  • South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association
  • Southwest Conference of Mayors
  • West Central Municipal Conference
  • Will County Governmental League
Metro West Council of Government

Install Metro West Council of Government

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”