Skip to content

Serving Municipalities in Kane, Kendall and DeKalb Counties


Trick or Treat

Click below for Metro West Members Trick or Treat hours in Kane, Kendall and Dekalb Counties. Happy Halloween! 2020 Trick or Treat Flyer…

Read More

Municipalities exempt from Election Day ‘holiday’

A Sangamon County judge has ruled local units of government are exempt from a law the General Assembly passed this year declaring the Nov. 3 general election as a state holiday and requiring all government offices to be closed that day, unless they are used as polling places or for other election-related services. Click here…

Read More

Affordable Internet Access Program

The AT&T Access Program provides low cost internet service to eligible households participating in the National School Lunch Program and Head Start. School districts, nonprofits, and other community partners who work regularly with low income households might benefit from this information. Contact information is included in the flyer if there are specific questions about this program.…

Read More

Revised Guidelines for Restaurants and Bars

The State of Illinois announced revised guidelines for restaurants and bars due to the recent increase in COVID cases effective as of August 26th.  The latest guidelines require patrons to wear a mask during any interaction with wait staff, food service workers and other employees at bars and restaurants. Face coverings must be worn over…

Read More

Trustee Debby Sosine Elected Acting Village President

The Algonquin Village Board elected Trustee Debby Sosine as Acting Village President at their meeting on Tuesday, August 4.  Acting Village President Sosine will fill the remainder of late-Village President John Schmitt’s term, who passed away unexpectedly on July 25. Please see the link below for the press release. Press Release Acting President Sosine…

Read More

Restore Illinois Transportation Infrastructure Grants Funded

Gov. JB Pritzker and the Illinois Department of Transportation announced the second of six $250 million grants to counties, municipalities and townships to address local transportation needs. For Metro West COG members, Kane County is listed on pages 60-61, Kendall County is listed on page 64, and DeKalb County is listed on page 27. Click…

Read More

Algonquin President John Schmitt Leaves a Lasting Legacy

Metro West Council of Government extends our sincerest sympathies to his family and residents of the Village of Algonquin on the passing of John Schmitt. President Schmitt was instrumental in not only the vibrant growth that Alqonauin has seen but in the regional area of the Kane/McHenry County area.  He leaves behind a lasting legacy and will be missed…

Read More

Warning from IL Dept. of Agriculture regarding unsolicited seeds mailing

“We are currently working with USDA’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) to address reports of unsolicited shipments of seeds from foreign countries. Anyone who receives unordered seeds in the mail should contact the Illinois Department of Agriculture by emailing the following information to First and Last Name, Phone Number and the number…

Read More

Metro West Council of Government

Install Metro West Council of Government

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”